Here Lies a Brave! (The Belated Explanation of this Blog’s Title)

When I first became interested in this research topic, I went to the library and poured through several copies of Art and Archaeology Magazine. In a 1922 issue, I stumbled across this poem by E.B. White:

An Indian Burial Mound

The sculpted buttes cut cameo-wise

Against the bold blue skies,

Above the grave.

No catafalque, no lordly marble tomb;

But,–in his native hill side carved,–a room

His bones to save.

The tomb profaned, simple would show his needs;

A shard or two, a strand of turquoise beads

The spirit crave.

Here ruled his tribe before we bade them go.

Here buffalo and deer paid tribute to his bow;

Here lies a brave!

I still don’t understand what a sentimental poem was doing in the middle of scholarly journal, but hey, I used to run a publication too, and sometimes you’re just super low on content and you do what you gotta do. There isn’t much interesting about this poem–well, two things. But neither of those things make it a good inspiration from which to draw the title of my entire project.

(1) It could potentially  be presented as evidence that archaeology feelings, as an actual prevalent phenomenon in nationalist discourse, are real, or, at least, were for E.B. White.

(2). It has blue beads in it, which is something I’m going to post about soon.

So why is it my title? Honestly, I wanted a quote from one of the pieces of literature I was reading for this research and it seemed like a not terrible one. Sorry I didn’t post explaining sooner, I guess I just hoped I would come up with a better rationale.

NOTE: Ugh, it will not format correctly. The poem is meant to be in 4 three-line stanzas.

Leave a Reply

